Should Jeremy Corbyn kneel before the Queen?

Should Corbyn kneel before the Queen?

Can Corbyn still show respect to something he wants to change? Image source: Queen Elizabeth II by GDJ via openclipart.org

Is it possible to be a part of a system and not subscribe to all of the requirements?  Is it possible to engage in acts within a system to which you don’t wholly subscribe?

Some examples:

  • Has a non-practicing Christian ever accepted a day off work on a Christian holiday? Or had their child Christened, Confirmed, or Baptised for that matter?
  • Do we vote for a political party even if we do not agree with every policy?
  • Do we occasionally break the law by speeding?

Why do we allow for such latitude in our actions and behaviours?  Is it because the greater vision is more important to us?  That we want to be part of a system even if we would change it if we could?

The non-practising Christian, or even Atheist for that matter, may be applying broader parental vision in giving their child a basis for faith that they can accept or deny as they grow up.  In taking the holiday they are possibly receiving much benefit in terms of rest or family time.

Voters possibly believe that they can make their voice heard from within, or simply that they don’t expect to agree with all things – they still have a right to be a part of the process of governing.

Speeders, rightly or wrongly, can outweigh the illegality of their transgressions by the impact of loss of earnings and free movement so don’t hand themselves in when the odometer needle starts creeping.

Simple Socratic questioning and the pursuit of logical implications when applied to the opening question of this piece identifies a near-impossible application of the premise.

Why then do we insist that Jeremy Corbyn can’t maintain his political integrity if he kneels to the Queen to take up his post?  He may not believe, but if he kneels he will be showing respect to that which is currently in place, whilst maintaining his personal position to seek debate on possible changes to the way that the monarchy is aligned to the governing of our country.

I fear that the hubris of his detractors is merely a sign of the combatorial, extreme-polarity style of opposition politics and journalism that seems to being permeating our shores from the US.  I vote for less carping and more logical debate – at least in public.  The current climate of attacking the Labour Leader is giving the students I teach less and less to listen to that is meritorious, nor much that can stand up to the scrutiny of simple logic, from our mainstream public figures.

Yours, as ever TCM.

Post Script

I confess:

  • I make tea in offices for people I don’t like
  • I take courses I don’t need because my employer deems it necessary
  • I stand when a Judge or Magistrate enters court
  • I sing hymns with sentiments I don’t like at weddings
  • I teach students theories I don’t believe in but are in the curriculum
  • I wore a salwar kameez when I visited India
  • I don’t walk straight in to senior managers offices after knocking
  • I accepted an invitation to join the front of the queue at Dismaland
  • I don’t expect migrants to speak ‘my’ language
  • I accept that not all people hold the same beliefs as me
  • I use capitals for God and Queen
  • I don’t sing along to the national anthem every time I hear it
  • I have never told someone that they are incapable of their job because they disagree with an aspect of doing it
Leave a Reply

